Träumerei

I wake up in the busiest street of the city in the rush hour. I am lying in the middle of the road. Cars are pacing up and down just by the side of my ear. I try to stand on my feet but fail to do so. I become damn afraid of the circumstances. I try harder to get up of the road. At last, I succeed after three or four trials. I battle with the raging cars to cross the street. I find a bus stop.

The bus arrives right in time. The hydraulically locked door opens up in front of me. I put my step on the stair of the bus. The door slams close right after I manage to pull myself inside the bus.

Silence! Not a bit of sound exists in the bus. No madness, no unnecessary honks, no sign of the rush going on outside the bus. It’s quiet, calm and peaceful. It has a capacity of 60 people as written on the manufacturer board. 59 of them are sitting on their seats. One seat is left empty. Everyone in the bus has headphones in their ear. They are listening to a song, whose faint melody enters my ear but it’s too inaudible to be identified. I start feeling suffocation in this silence. Nobody is talking or smiling or even making any movement. I push a man on his shoulder. He stares at me with a strange look. He seemed to be disgusted.

I start walking towards the one and only empty seat in the bus. Everybody is looking strangely at me. I reach my seat. There is an mp3 player kept on the seat with a pair of headphones. I pick them up. I sit on the seat. The bus is accelerating rapidly. I plug in the headphones and put them in my ears. I push the “play” button on the mp3 player.

“Fools”, said, “I you do not know

Silence like a cancer grows…

~ by abhisek on September 7, 2010.

5 Responses to “Träumerei”

  1. Whoa! That was one heck of an ominous post. It kinda made me feel trapped 😐

    Great read! Do not just disappear, keep them coming! 🙂

  2. Thank you! 🙂

  3. chalie jao botso…

  4. good,,, keep it up 🙂

  5. hey nice one dear…

Leave a Reply

 
